Blogging

Hi there, my name is Kevin and I can’t think of a witty joke to open up with. I never wanted to make a blog. Not that I consider myself better than that, but I never thought I had anything interesting enough to write about. I’m not going to say that I was opposed to blogs, but I will say that I found them to be a colossal waste of time. I waste enough time on the computer as it is, why would anyone be in hearing me rant about twilight in a digital form?

Is it pretentious to comment about blogs in a blog? I would like to apologize if it is.

As for information about me:

I was born in Houston and live in the Woodlands, Texas. I grew up in suburbia and actually enjoyed alot of it. The Woodlands gets knocked alot- and with good reason. The Woodlands is a bubble of upper middle class white people. our mall has a water way where you can ride a boat… Who even thought this was kind of a good idea? Why in the world does a suburb need a moat? I like to imagine a 5 year old proposing it. That being said I really am glad I grew up there. for all its flaws, its a really nice place with very friendly people.

At one point I could lip sync the entirety of It’s a Wonderful Life. I love this movie. I can’t rank my movies but this one would be in my top 3 for sure. I love Jimmy Stewarts performance as George Bailey, he is the ultimate good guy. There just so much to love in this film. the themes are universal and strike a chord to this day. What I love most about it is how dark it gets. This movie has a reputation for being a light a fluffy christmas movie, but its not (until the end anyway). So much of this film is George meeting set back after set back, but he pulls on through. We literally see George hit rock bottom and attempt suicide. But then the ending happens and life is wonderful again. It’s also one of the few movies that gets me a bit watery eyed… and I mean that in the manliest way possible.

Zombie movies are my guilty pleasure. Every thing I criticize other movies for (predictable plots, unrealistic characters, silly dialogue) I LOVE about Zombie movies. I think one of the big appeals of these movies is that they glorify the common man. the main character in zombie movies is always a dorky underdog. is he smart? kind of. is he strong? hell no! those jocks are the first ones to go. but the main guy manages to get off of instinct and a blunt object (or lawnmower if thats your thing). I can’t really get into it more than that. Zombie Movies are enjoyable. Fun times are had by all- unless you get eaten alive. that would suck. quite alot.

I can Wiggle my ears. Both of them.  My Mom is quite proud. My Dad doesn’t return my phone calls.

Thats all that I can think of at the moment. We’ll see if more comes to mind.

I am looking forward to this class. I love storytelling. I am a big fan of dialogue but I’m a sucker for a good pantomimed story. Puppets are cool too. Mimes can go to hell.

I am looking forward to learning about different methods of story telling this semester.

Thats all I can think to say at any rate. If there are any questions anyone has just ask or email me.

About kevsheil

My name is Kevin and when I was young I made a promise to myself that I would never make a blog... Then I saw the syllabus for this class. I'm not saying that college has made me a liar but the very fact that I have a blog AND am a communications major seriously diminishes my already non existant street cred.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

